NEC4 - Schedule of Cost Components

Hello all,

This is my first post, probably of many, I am a trainee QS and VERY interested in contract law. The NEC form of contract I feel is truly the best contract I have worked on.

Regarding the schedule of cost components, should items be missed off and not included, can these items still be claimed for in the event of a CE? My understanding is that yes, of course it’s still claimable, it could just take some negotiating regarding rates etc whereas inserting it in the schedule of cost components makes the process easier.

Any response and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Looking to connect with people on LinkedIn and in person too!

Thank you,
Dave

Hello Dave - For Compensation Event quotations the Contractors costs are recovered under the Schedule of Cost Components. There are eight titles under which the Contractor can forecast their costs (or claim direct cost incurred if notified of a CE event after the event happened: see “dividing date”). The eight titles are: People, Equipment, Plant & Materials, Subcontractors, Charges, Manufacture & Fabrication, Design and Insurance. If a cost cannot be claimed under one of these titles then it’s deemed the cost is included in the direct fee percentage applied. CE quotations are a forecast of Defined Cost plus the Fee. Bear in mind the direct fee percentage is fixed, the more costs that sit out side the schedule the less cost/profit the Contractor can recover.

If you missed off an item in your quotation and the CE has been implemented then it can’t be claimed for. CE’s can’t be revisited once implemented.

Hello and thank you for your response!

I think I may have explained the scenario wrong. I understand that if an item is missed off the CE then once implemented this will not be able to be changed.