NEC ECC: What standing do Contractor tender qualifications or assumptions have to play in a signed contract?

As a Contractor I included an assumption in our tender submission that we have NOT allowed for a certain element of the Works Information. That page of Contractor tender assumptions has been included within the signed contract.

The Project Manager requires this element to be done as it states within the Works Information - but she is saying that they do not agree this is a compensation event as the Contractor created an ambiguity with their assumption and that will go in their favour.

I understand that it would have been better to have the contract amended in line with the assumption and then it would be very clear. But in the situation where there are assumptions in a signed contract that contradict the Works Information - is the Contractor protected here or not? The intent is pretty clear from the Contractor and they have had their bid accepted with their assumptions included, but can the Project Manager still wriggle out??

2 Likes

You don’t say which main option this is under and, therefore, what the ‘pricing document’ is under the contract. Notwithstanding this, however, there is a discrepancy in what has been included in the ‘pricing document’, by virtue of the tender assumption, in that what has been priced does not accord with the Works Information, as described.

If dealt with as an inconsistency under the contract, it is not clear what the Project Manager would actually instruct as the Works Information, as it is stated in the contract, does not need to be changed.

It seems that this is a matter which is resolved by applying the principles of contract interpretation. That is to objectively determine what a reasonable person would have understood the parties to have meant, taking into consideration all the background knowledge available to the parties at the time of the contract.