With regard to the Building Act 1984, what is meant by the 'supplementary regulations'?

These are contained within Part 5 of the act. This contains seven schedules which list the primary areas of building that need to legislated on, and how local authorities are involved in building regulations. The schedules are as follows:

Schedule 1 – Building Regulations

Schedule 2 – Relaxation of Building Regulations for existing work

Schedule 3 – Inner London

Schedule 4 – Provisions consequential upon public body’s notice

Schedule 5 – Transitional provisions

Schedule 6 – Consequential amendments

Schedule 7 – Repeals