How are properties assessed with regard to the 'sustainability ratings' related to the 'Code for Sustainable Homes'?

This involves a property being assessed across the following nine categories:

·     Energy/CO2;

·     water;

·     materials;

·     surface water run-off;

·     waste;

·     pollution;

·     health & well-being;

·     management;

·     ecology.

The legislation sets minimum standards for each category which must be met, as well as an overall total which also has to be satisfied.